Excerpt From Timing Makes It Difficult To Ignore

Everything is such a mystery to me these days. I am middle-aged and there is so much I don’t understand. I read this sentence from Heather O’Neill’s lullabies for little criminals: The moon was out already and looked like a melting bit of ice in a glass of water. A few big snowflakes started falling here and there, all slowly, like spiders on their invisible webs coming down. Or this one: Jules was able to smoke in slow motion when he was stoned. The smoke came out of his mouth like ribbons being pulled  off a present.

How does this happen? How does a mind think up such fresh images? To read someone is to plunge into another mind and realize how different we all are yet so much the same.  

The next day, I miss-type November 100 rather than 10 and think this is what I want. I want the impossible. I do not want the reality of my sister’s  death to sink in. Not yet. I need to hang on to her  a little bit longer. At a time when I need a pair of arms around me I interpret X’s appearance into my life as more than what it is. But it isn’t and I realize that I need, I want someone who cares for me truly. When I finally decide that X is not the man I need in my life grief for Diana returns and I understand the meaning of X’s presence. He was there as a balm to my wound. Mind and heart. Fascinating pieces of equipment.

Here’s an interview with Heather O’Neill http://www.quillandquire.com/authors/profile.cfm?article_id=7521

About Carol Balawyder

Hi- Thank you for stopping by. I am the author of the Getting To Mr. Right Series which includes Missi's Dating Adventures, Café Paradise, Not By Design and The Longest Nine Months. I also wrote Mourning Has Broken , a memoire on grief. I am currently using my experience as a criminologist to write crime novels. I am mostly interested in domestic crime and noir fiction. You can read my first psychological suspense novel Warning Signs and my second novel Just Before Sunrise. Being a messy and unorganized writer I wrote two author notebooks to keep me focused on my character traits and my settings. I also blog regularly on my website. I hope to see you there at www.carolbalawyder.com/blog. You can check out my books on my author profile at: https://www.amazon.com/Carol-Balawyder/e/B00QYYX008%3Fref=dbs_a_mng_rwt_scns_share I wish you all peace and success.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment